Player of the Year 2023

On Saturday 6th May Pollok FC hosted our annual Player of the Year Awards Night!

A great time was had by all who attended and the night was a great way to celebrate all that the club has achieved this season!

Up first was recognition for the Bargeddie Colts U19s squad who picked up a league and cup double.
Bargeddie Colts will become the Pollok U20s development squad from next year.

Congratulations and Welcome to Pollok!

The first was the Fans Forum Player of the Year.
An award given to the player with the most votes in the fan forum Man of the Match polls.
Since its inception, no player has ever retained the award for a second season.

However, Del Esplin broke that streak by becoming the first player to pick up this award a second time for his consistency of his performances across the whole season.

The next award to be given was the Players’ Player of the Year.
Making it his second award of the evening and also his second to be retained:
Del Esplin returned to the stage to collect his award voted by the playing squad.

Fans’ Forum Player of the Year – Del Esplin Presented by Bob Foulkes


A new award debuted at the Player Awards Night this year.
The Supporters Ambassador Award has been chosen and funded by a section of Pollok supporters who felt they wanted to recognise a fellow supporter who represents our club and what it means to be a Pollok fan.

The inaugural winner of the Supports Ambassador award was Jamie Rigg.
Jamie uses an electric wheelchair but does not let that stop him from following Pollok home and away, with enthusiasm and optimism.

Jamie was unable to attend the Awards Night however, his award will be presented at our next game.
Club captain and Friend of Jamie’s David Brownlie collected this award on his behalf and will present it to Jamie
Kevin McElwee spoke about his admiration for Jamie and why he wanted to recognise a fellow supporter.

Support Ambassador Award – Jamie Rigg Presented by Kevin McElwee


The top goal scorer was the next award to be presented.

With 20 goals this season, Stuart McCann picked up this year’s top scorer.

Top Goalscorer – Stuart McCann Presented by Jordan Longmuir

A second debut award was then presented.

The Management Merit Award was selected by Stewart Maxwell as a Player he felt deserved to be regonised for his commitment, attitude, and performance this year.
Since arriving at the club this year Stewart was impressed with Josh Lumsden and the way he represented both himself and Pollok Football Club.

Management Merit Award – Josh Lumsden Presented by Stewart Maxwell

Stewart Maxwell wanted to show his appreciation to Club President Graham Milne for his effort and help since joining the club.
Graham expressed his thanks to Stewart and the rest of the coaching staff for the countless hours of effort they have put into this club this year.
Graham also thanked all the club’s volunteers who work so hard for the love of the club in making this season and every season possible.


The Final awards to be presented were the Manager’s Player of the Year
Which was awarded to Darren Christie in recognition of his performances this year since Stewart Maxwell arrived at the club.

This leaves the Pollok Member’s Player of the Season.
All club members are given a vote to submit for this Award which has selected Darren Christie.

Darren was unable to attend to receive his awards however they were collected on his behalf by Derek Rhodden

After the awards were presented the coaching team opened the floor to questions ranging from their vision for the club next season to the enteral grass vs astro pitch debate.

Finally to close the night off Pollok’s very own Ryan Dahkil treated us to a tune.